On Being a Gold Miner (Slice of Life – 3/2)

“I wish Mrs. Harrod knew…

…that I use to hate books, but now I think they’re one of the best things in the world.”

~ Evelyn K., Fifth Grade Student

I did not know this.

And it occurs to me that it is worth knowing… and in fact, it is worth knowing more. Like why did she once-upon-a-time hate reading? And what caused the shift from hate to love? And what does me knowing this mean for the experiences I invite into our learning space tomorrow? Or the next day?

It’s like mining for gold, which can be broken down roughly into four steps: prospecting, mining, extracting and refining.

If you’ll excuse me, I have some gold to mine.

4 Replies to “On Being a Gold Miner (Slice of Life – 3/2)”

  1. What a wonderful piece of gold you found there! I love hearing things like this from students…and you’re right–it always provokes more questions! I hope you find more in your gold-mining adventure today! 🙂 Thank you for sharing.

  2. Great connection to gold mining. What I love most is that you’ve this girl’s reading world around….and you feel like your job is NOT done! Congratulations to you and your work and good luck with your mining.

  3. Noticing is the biggest part. I like the analogy. Prospecting, mining, extracting , refining. Great ideas to keep in mind.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*